Poway Symphony Orchestra

Schedule of Performances

Sunday, March 19, 2017,
4 PM

"Orchestral Favorites"
Felix Mendelssohn, Hebrides Overture "Fingal's Cave", Op. 26

Franz Schubert, Symphony No. 8 in B minor "Unfinished", D. 759

Ludwig van Beethoven. Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67


Sunday, May 21, 2017
4 PM

Max Bruch, Violin Concerto No. 1, Op. 26,
Soloist: Misha Vayman

 Connect with us on

See Our Maestro's Latest Television Interview

Click here

Orchestra Ticket Sales Information

Tickets for general admission to each concert will be available for purchase at $15,
$ 12 for seniors and $ 10 for students. Details on how to purchase will be found here and on concert announcements. A quick comparison with admission prices for other cultural or entertainment events will demonstrate that this is an extremely good value.

For More Ticket Sales Information Click Here

Our Mission

Our mission is to make live classical symphonic music accessible to audiences and fellow performers of communities and towns in North County for their musical enjoyment and cultural and educational enrichment.

A Bit of History

The Poway Symphony Orchestra was formed in the summer of 2004 by Ulli Reiner, its concertmaster and manager, through the Poway Unified School District Adult Education Department. The orchestra consists of community members, high school and college students, music educators, and professional musicians. These musicians register for the Orchestra class each term with the Poway Adult School.

Randall Brinton led the orchestra through 2006, Branden Muresan through 2009, and Warren Torns assumed the baton from 2009 to 2014. John LoPiccolo was appointed the Conductor and Music Director in September 2014.

Performance highlights have included Mozart's Concerto for Clarinet (Bob Barnhart, soloist); Rodrigo's Concierto de Aranjuez (Fred Benedetti, guitar); Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue (Steve Baker, piano); J. S. Bach's Concerto for Two Violins (Ulli Reiner and Roger Pine, violin); Haydn's Trumpet Concerto (Calvin Price, soloist); Rutter's Magnificat for Orchestra and Choir (combined choirs of Mt. Carmel and Rancho Bernardo  High Schools); and Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1 (Chetan Tierra, piano).

In 2009 the Poway Community Symphonette was created, a smaller ensemble that performs music from the baroque and classical periods.

The November 23, 2014 concert was the debut appearance of John LoPiccolo as the Orchestra's Music Director and Conductor. The program included works by Berlioz, Bizet and the Symphonie Espagnole by Lalo with Bridget Dulkas as violin soloist.

A gala concert for the 10th anniversary of the Orchestra was presented on March 22, 2015, followed by a well-attnded reception.

The Brahms Symphony No. 4 was programmed at the November 22, 2015 concert, as well as the Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 with Chin Ming Cheng as soloist.